Face Masks For All Skin Types

by Purple Herbal


facial_maskEver wanted to get the same results as an expensive spa treatment at home, for a lot less money? Ever wondered what kind of face mask is best suited for your skin type? Well, keep reading!

Our skin is a reflection of our state of health. Thankfully, nature has provided us with many effective and inexpensive options to keep our skin looking fresh and beautiful. In fact, you probably have at least one of the ingredients I am going to list for a face mask in your pantry or fridge right now.

A face mask is as versatile as the all important LBD (little black dress). It can be tailored for any occasion, I mean skin type. And it quickly becomes a built in part of your wardrobe ensemble, I mean beauty regime!

For me, putting on a face mask is a way to take some time to adjust my focus back to myself. It’s a way to drop the baggage of the day, recenter, and enjoy myself and my time. The process of mixing up the ingredients, putting them on my face, waiting, rinsing them off, and looking at my improved skin brings about a sense of accomplishment and gratitude. The simplicity of creating an at home spa environment is so soothing and healing as well.

Lighted candles, good music, and your favorite cup of tea or glass of wine (I prefer honey bush tea or sparkling wine), help to make the perfect ambiance.

There are a few things I always do before dabbing on a clay mask, egg wash, or fruit medley. First, I rinse my skin with warm water (and maybe a little castile soap)  to wash off any surface dirt or grime. If I have make up on, I remove all of it until my skin is squeaky clean. While I am washing my face, I have a small pot of water coming up to boil on the stove. Once the water is boiling, I pour it into a bowl on a table, and seat myself in front of it with a towel over my head, covering the bowl at the same time. This allows the steam to permeate my skin and deeply open up my pores. It also helps to relax me and meditate for a few minutes.

A few drops of lavender, tea tree , or a citrus essential oil can be added to the water. Dry herbs like lavender, mint, lemon balm, or rose petals can be added as well. These provide aromatherapy, as well as another level of treatment for your skin.

Dry and sensitive skin do well with rose.

Oily skin loves citrus and mint.

Lavender can be used on any skin type.

Tea tree is good for acne prone skin.

I have combination skin, so I’ve had to deal with pretty much every skin type there is. My skin is sensitive, dry, oily, and acne prone.  The following list of face masks comes from my extensive amount of experimentation with different fruits, vegetables, and other natural materials.

Sensitive Skin

Anything with a lot of drying power, or strong exfoliating capabilities are to be avoided.

Flowers like Roses and Lavender

Mild White Clays like Kaolin

Egg Yolks

Bananas and Avocados

Aloe

Yogurt

Mineral water

Oily Skin

Lemons, Oranges, and Grapefruits

Green clay

Egg white

Cucumber

Orange and Lemon peel powder

Rosemary

Oatmeal

Cold water

Apple cider vinegar

cucumber

Acne Prone

Egg yolk

Egg white

Rose and Lavender

Tea tree oil

Garlic and Onion (smelly, but the sulfur is great at clearing up breakouts)

Watermelon, Strawberries, and Kiwis

Potato

Tomato

Basil (in infusion of leaves)

Epsom salts

Grapeseed oil

Ice

Dry Skin

Bananas

Egg yolk

Avocado

Aloe

Honey

Jojoba oil

Chamomile and Calendula infusion

It’s possible to combine some of the ingredients in order to tailor them to your skin needs (oily and acne prone, for example). Your skin’s condition may vary and that’s okay.

Dry and acne prone skin might want to mix tea tree oil in jojoba oil. Oily sensitive might want to put rose oil in powdered oatmeal, mixed with a little aloe vera juice. The possibilities are endless. And, as long as you don’t have extremely sensitive skin or dry skin, a little experimentation with other ingredients listed (if they call out to you at all) may be used with discretion. Oily and acne prone skin would do well to use bananas or jojoba oil. But, lemon juice or onion might be too much for sensitive skin. I will say that I have used every single one of these ingredients on my skin, and would use all of them again.

If you notice your skin becoming irritated or in pain, rinse off the mask right away. Think of citrus fruits as intense chemical peels. Some may be able to withstand the ‘burn’ because it means fresh skin is being brought to the surface, but it may be too much for others. If you are worried at all about what a particular face mask will do to your skin, test a small patch of skin to see if it irritates or not.

Otherwise, enjoy using simple and natural ingredients for healthier and more beautiful skin!

