The Secret to Preventing Varicose Veins

by Purple Herbal


I have the secret to preventing varicose veins, and it can be done in the comfort of one’s own home, inexpensively, and with the simplest of strategies. I first read about how to treat varicose veins in the book “Back to Eden” by Jethro Kloss, which is a wonderful book on herbal medicine written in the early 20th century.

The secret to varicose veins (which are caused by faulty valves in the veins of the legs pooling blood, because they are unable pump blood back up to the heart) is this:

Cold Water Applications and Baths


According to Kloss, varicose veins would hardly exist if people used cold water applications on their legs or took baths in cold water. (See my post on Cold Water Treatments) A cold bath in the morning, followed by rubbing a cold towel or wash cloth all over the body, followed by a dry one is what Kloss specifically recommends.

Personally, I can’t take cold baths (unless it’s almost 100 degrees outside), but I can take cold showers, especially after using the sauna. Or,  I’ll just use a cold wash cloth and rub that on my legs towards my heart.

While being pregnant with my daughter 4 years ago, I started noticing the veins in my legs coming closer to the surface. Especially on my right side. I learned that the major vein in our bodies is located on the right side. When sleeping it’s best to lay on the left side, so as not to constrict that major vein.

Varicose veins run in my family, so I wanted to start preventing them from ever occurring. I make it a point to never lay on my right side, and I use the cold water applications or take a cold shower at least 3 times a week.

I also like to lay with my feet up against a wall, so that the blood can drain from my legs. I usually do this right before going to bed.

White oak bark, made into tea, is very soothing for people who already have varicose veins and need some relief.

Eating a diet of mainly fruits and vegetables for a time, in order to cleanse the body, is also extremely important. Having toxins in the blood is not conducive to preventing or treating varicose veins. This will also alleviate any pain in the legs.

Exercise and skin brushing are other great ways to get the blood flowing and moving towards the heart.

