Dry Skin Brushing for the Treatment of Cellulite, Immune Support, and Improved Circulation

by Purple Herbal


About 90% of women have cellulite. Cellulite is caused when bulges of fat seep down through the muscle, creating a rippling or cottage cheese effect on the thigh. Working out those muscles to strengthen and tone them with squats, lunges, leg lifts, and step aerobics definitely helps reduce cellulite, but doesn’t always get rid of the problem completely.

Being that it’s summer, and so many of us ladies are going to be exposing our cellulite to the world, I thought it would be a good time to talk about a great trick I have for reducing cellulite. I have been dry brushing my skin every day for about 2 years with a boar bristle brush, and have to say that it is my secret weapon against cellulite.

All one needs to start skin brushing is get a natural hair (I love my boars bristle) brush. They are not expensive and can be found at almost any bath and body boutique. I found mine for around $2  at a dollar store. The brush should always be moving in a motion towards the heart. It is preferable to dry skin brush before one showers, so that the dead skin cells are rinsed off.

I recently found out that skin brushing is also great at boosting the immune system. This is because our lymphatic system is located right under our skin, and needs movement in order to stay in efficient form. Skin brushing, in a sense, boosts our immune system by moving the lymph fluid through our bodies, invigorating us and creating a healthy environment within our bodies

My circulation is so much better now too, as it is stimulated by the brushing action. I am also preventing varicose veins with skin brushing. Varicose veins are caused by the valves in the veins malfunctioning, which causes blood to  pool in them, swelling them. They are usually genetic, and because they run in my family, I wish to prevent them as best as I can. By brushing my skin upwards toward my heart, I am giving the veins in my legs a little boost, so to speak. I am creating an effect that helps protect and strengthen my veins.

My husband is Romanian, and there is a folk remedy to deal with nausea or other general feelings of being unwell. He recommended that I use my hands to brush forcefully up my arm over and over again. The idea was that toxins get stuck in that area of the body, so they need to be pushed and moved outwards. I like to use my skin brush, instead of my hands. The feeling I get afterward really is one of being cleansed.

I truly cannot live without  my skin brush! I encourage any women to see for herself how such a simple thing as a boar bristle brush can improve her beauty and health all at the same time, with just a few minutes a day.

bath and body boutique
