How I Remedied My Strained Muscle

by Purple Herbal


While walking my dogs yesterday, I strained a muscle in my upper thigh and could barely walk home. I actually stretched out my inner thigh muscles before I left, which is something I don’t normally do, so I’m wondering if that had anything to do with it. I have never experienced anything like what I felt yesterday before. I was literally hobbling home, because it felt like my hip joint came out of whack too.

When I got home, I put some arnica gel on my thigh to help relieve some of the muscle soreness, but I still could not walk very well. I laid on the couch in order to rest my leg for the night. When I woke up this morning, my thigh still hurt, so I took an Epsom salt bath (why I didn’t take one last night I don’t know!) and that made it feel almost completely better. I harped about Epsom salts yesterday, and I’m going to harp about them today: They are Amazing! I was so happy how quickly the muscle soreness dissipated after taking a bath with them. I couldn’t have done it without the arnica gel too.

Arnica

Arnica is a flowering plant that is native to Europe, mainly in mountainous areas. It has been used medicinally for over 500 years. Mountain climbers found that their muscle pain was soothed when they chewed on the leaves of the arnica plant.

Today, it is most commonly used in a gel or cream form, as well as homeopathic and herbal tincture form. I have the gel, tincture, and homeopathic in 6, 12, and 30x dilutions. The lower the dilution, the better it is for acute illness. So, when my daughter falls at the playground or bangs her head into something, I use the 6 or 12 dilution. For a more longterm effect, I use the 30x. The gel is second to none at preventing bruises. I bruise really easily, and whenever I use the gel on a bruise, it never turns purple or blue. Just greenish yellow and then fades away.

Check out this NY Times column from Sep 2009, which talks about different alternative therapies and whether or not they have been scientifically proven to be beneficial. Arnica has been proven to be beneficial for arthritis pain and muscle soreness :

http://well.blogs.nytimes.com/2009/09/17/the-alternative-medicine-cabinet-arnica/

I’m not one of those people that does need scientific proof that an herb works in order for me to use it or find it effective. But, for some it is important. The PDR for Herbal Medicine is a must have for those trying out herbal medicine, and want to see some scientific research documenting the effects of the herbs.

I highly recommend everyone have homeopathic arnica in their home medicine cabinet for any kind of shock or trauma (I had it ready for when I gave birth at home), and the gel or cream form for bruising and muscle soreness.

