Moon Cycle

by Purple Herbal


FYI, there might be a little too much information in this post, but it is what I am experiencing right now, so bear with me because there is some good advice as to how to handle a woman’s delicate time of the month more comfortably.

It’s the full moon tonight, so it’s not surprising that it’s also that time of the month for me. I woke up feeling fatigued and in discomfort. The first day is always the worst for cramps. I took a dose of homeopathic magnesium phosphorica, drank a glass of water, and went out and laid in the sun in my bikini to get some warm July sun rays on my lower belly. It felt like I had a heating pad on my entire body, so I was very relaxed and feeling much better.

When I came back inside, I made myself a cup of honey bush tea and got ready to take a bath with Epsom salts. Let me just say that Epsom salts are amazing. Not only can they draw out impurities from our bodies and ease nervous and muscle tension when used in the bath or as a laxative, but they also make a fantastic plant food! Epsom salts are 100% natural and inexpensive. Anyway, I made the bath hot, despite the heat outside and lack of air conditioning in my house, and put in about 2 cups of Epsom salts and let them dissolve. I felt relief within just a minute or two as the heat from the water and the cleansing minerals calmed the cramps and discomfort I had begun to feel again.

It’s been 2 hours since my bath and I still feel great. My cramping is much less than it was, and by tomorrow I should be fine. I’m planning on going for a walk with my dogs and then go to the sauna later, which will also help reduce any discomfort I have. Exercise really does wonders to revitalize myself during this time. I highly recommend taking a walk or a bike ride, and stretching the lower back and abdominal muscles to ease the pain of period cramps.

I should probably make another motherwort tincture, because mine is getting old and I haven’t used it in a few months. I have had really great results using motherwort during my period to reduce cramping. It’s almost like I have taken two ibuprofen when I use the tincture. I don’t like to take pain killers, so that is why I seek out natural remedies.

Motherwort

Diet also plays a very big role in how I feel during this time. If I have eaten a lot of salty or fried foods during the month, I definitely can tell. When I include lots of fresh fruits and salads with vinegar/lemon and olive oil dressings I always feel much better during this time. I grew lots of lettuce, tomatoes, and cucumbers this year in my garden, so I always have a fresh supply of salad ingredients!

I read in the book “Back to Eden” that a women should make sure her feet never get cold during the first day of her period. So, especially during the cold months, I wear warm socks and slippers to make sure my feet stay warm.

Don’t forget about getting enough sleep! Sleep is so regenerating and healing. I need at least 7-8 hours a night or I cannot function properly. Sometimes I’ll take a nap if I’m feeling tired during the day or grab a good book and just relax on the couch for a little while to just relax and take it easy.

Using this time to slow down and reflect back on the previous month, while also looking forward to the next one, is about finding balance in my life. Usually I am always running around, doing schoolwork, cleaning, shopping, etc…so it is nice to have a day to center myself and reconnect with who I am as a woman. I think about the choices I want to make that will better my life. I think about who I am as an individual and appreciate who I am.

A woman’s moon cycle does not have to be a horrible experience. It can be a time to pamper and reconnect with one’s self. Something as simple as taking a warm bath with some lavender oil scented epsom salts (a few drops per cup, mixed with a tablespoon of olive oil), and lighting some candles can do wonders to make me feel better.

